Simple Yet Powerful Healthy Food Habits


Simple Yet Powerful Healthy Food Habits 

We can see that humans today are eating a diet that is very different from the diet our ancestors thrived on throughout evolution.Our diet changed drastically in the agricultural revolution, about 10,000 years ago. However, this change is small compared to the massive transformation we’ve seen in the last few decades with modern food processing.

Instead of sticking to one variety of food, you must consume different varieties of food. Food variety means eating a wide variety of foods from each of the five food groups, in the amounts recommended. Eating many different foods helps maintain a healthy and interesting diet which provides a range of different nutrients to the body. Eating a variety of foods promotes good health and can help reduce the risk of disease.

The five food groups are:

•vegetables and legumes/beans


•lean meats and poultry, fish, eggs, tofu, nuts and seeds, legumes/beans

•grain (cereal) foods, mostly wholegrain and/or high cereal fibre varieties

•milk, yoghurt, cheese and/or alternatives, mostly reduced fat.

In the given list, foods are grouped together because they provide similar amounts of key nutrients. For example, key nutrients of the milk, yoghurt, cheese and alternatives group include calcium and protein, while the fruit group is a good source of vitamins, especially vitamin C. These food groups make up the Australian Guide to Healthy Eating.

Build a balanced plate at every meal, a well as snacks. You’ll see that the plate is divided into three sections, each section representing one of the main food groups, along with portion size. On one-half of the plate are fruits and vegetables, on one-quarter of the plate are grains and starches, and the remaining one-quarter is a source of protein. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here